Is It I? A Thanksgiving Message

While I was on my mission for my church I developed a love for poetry. I had always liked to read poems but it was during this time that I began to write them. There isn’t really a rhyme or a reason (no pun intended 😉 for how I write but the words do come from the heart.

I finished one of my very first poems on May 31, 2009. It is titled “Is It I?”

Is It I?

I Am the great atoning sacrifice

I was born to be slain;

for one, for all.

Those who are with me, some may not stay!

Lord is it I?

You fed the 5,o00,

Healed the sick,

Helped the blind to see,

The lame to walk,

And even raised the dead.

Yet some will not stay by your side!

Lord, is it I?

You are my anchor when I am weak.

You are my lighthouse when I am lost.

You died for me, so I might live;

For my life, and life for many.

Yet many turn away and try to stand alone!

Lord, is it I?

I am not like the others.

I will never go astray.

I will always rely on your for my support,

Yet you say many shall still deny you!

Lord, is it I?

You lived 2000 years ago,

And now your words still pierce my soul,

“Come to me heavy laden, I will give you rest.”

“Let your heart not be troubled nor afraid.”

“Bring thee therefore, fruits meet for repentance.”

Lord, it is I!

The mistakes I’ve made weaken my soul’s plight.

Men of many sorrows, you and I!

You overcame all, so we can overcome our all.

Where many mansions are, you prepare a place—

Lord, for you and I?

As I type this poem for the first time, and lift it from the page it was first hand written on, I feel the beauty of the poem all over again. There are over 6 billion people on this planet and we all come from different religious and non-religious backgrounds— Christian, Muslim, Jewish, Atheist, Buddhist, and countless others. I have chosen to be a Mormon, a Christian, and the center of my faith is Jesus Christ. I of course wrote this poem with Him in mind. But, this poem is for everyone, no matter your beliefs.

We all have someone in our life whom we rely on. Someone who gives us strength when we are weak, someone who lifts us up when we can’t lift ourselves. This person often times is there for us no matter what the circumstance, and they expect nothing in return. Whether it be a mother, a father, a sister, a brother, a grandma, a grandpa, an aunt or an uncle, a close friend, or anyone in between, you have a special place in our hearts.

It is up to us to let this person(s) know how much they mean to us. It is up to us to ask ourselves if when this person feels down or neglected, are we there for them? The beauty of Thanksgiving is that it can be celebrated by all peoples,and all faiths. The joy of this holiday is that we all have someone that we are grateful and have this special time of the year to let them know how much they mean to us.

I am grateful for my parents who love me through thick and thin, and who let me make my own decisions even if they are not the decisions they themselves would make. I am grateful for all my siblings who I know I can count on for anything, and who are weird enough that when we are together, I know I can just be myself. I am grateful for all my friends, whom when I feel down and depressed, have been there for me to brighten my day and help me feel better about myself. I am GRATEFUL for Braeden who has helped me become the man I am today, who has treated me better than I have treated myself. He means the world to me and I hope he will never forget how much I need him and how I feel about him. I love you Braeden.

As for you all, it would mean a lot to me if you would comment below and brag about a special someone. Someone who makes you a better person and whom you are eternally grateful for. Whether you are Christian or not, there is someone in everyone’s life who is much like Jesus Christ, in that they care for you above all else. If you are to take anything from my poem I hope it would be this, when someone close to you says that they have someone in their life that they know they can always rely on, that you will be able to say, “It Is I!”

Gratefully yours,

JWBIII

4 responses to “Is It I? A Thanksgiving Message

Leave a Reply

